Malnutrition

Whilst we were painting the Malnutrition ward a group of babies with their mums came in for feeding time. Fiona and I went and sat with them to help them feed the babies milk powder through a spoon and peanut butter paste.

There was one baby who stood out as his legs were no bigger than my little finger. I held him and it honestly felt like I was holding a bag of bones, he looked so poorly. I asked his mum how old he was, thinking she would say a few weeks old but her answer shocked me, he was in fact 10 months old! He looked worse than any child I have seen suffering on a BBC advert, his stomach was huge yet his ribs still poked through. It was absolutely heartbreaking.

Leave a Reply

